McKinney Earns Conference Player Of The Year

Cody McKinney led Sullivan across the board in statistics this season and it earned him Four Rivers Conference Player of the Year honors for the 2018-2019 season.

A senior guard, McKinney averaged 20 points, five rebounds and four assists per game. He shot 52 percent from the floor, including a 51 percent rate beyond the arc. He also averaged 86 percent at the free throw line.

Landon Hoffman was a unanimous first-team selection and Austin Frye was selected as Sixth Man of the Year.

Hoffman averaged 13 points per game and was a 42 percent shooter beyond the arc. Frye averaged five points per game.

Union head coach Chris Simmons was chosen as Coach of the Year after guiding the Wildcats to a perfect record in the FRC.

Union’s Trevor Kelly and Wil Strubberg, St. James’ Andrew Branson and Hermann’s Trent Anderson were the other unanimous selections.

Kelly led the Wildcats with 17 points points per game and he was an efficient shooter. Strubberg averaged 10 points and seven rebounds per game, along with more than a block per game.

Branson led the Tigers with 22 points per game.

Anderson averaged 17 points and seven rebounds per game. He also shot 65 percent from the floor.

New Haven’s Ethan Groner and St. James’ Tyler Recker also earned first-team nods. 

Hermann’s Rhet Scheidegger and Chet Moeckli; Pacific’s Mason Fleming; St. James’ Austin Ridenhour; Owensville’s Cason Gray; st. Clair’s Calvin Henry and Union’s Jacob Towell were second-team picks.

Sullivan Independent News

Sullivan Independent News
411 Scottsdale
Sullivan, MO 63080

Phone: 573-468-6511
Fax: 573-468-4046