Eagles Finish Second At Bob Georger Classic

Sullivan took second place Saturday at the 42nd annual Bob Georger Classic in De Soto.

Dillon Witt (126) and Evan Shetley (182) both reached the top of the podium.

Witt took home the championship with a 2-0 decision against North County’s Chris Singleton.

Shetley battled Hillsboro’s Zach McNees to a 3-1 decision to win first.

Hillsboro won the team title with 219 points. Sullivan followed with 176. 

Union took third with 160, Windsor was fourth with 136 and De Soto rounded out the top five with 121.

Twenty schools competed at the tournament.

Sullivan came away with a total of nine medals.

Tristan Brown (285) advanced to the championship match against defending state champion Landon Porter of De Soto. He fell by a 3-2 decision in double overtime.

Kobie Blankenship (160) and Carter Dace (195) finished third.

Ty Shetley (138) and Trey Eplin (170) each took fourth.

Joseph Lewis (120) and Ethan Hurt (145) came in fifth.


Witt improved to 27-1 and picked up four wins. He pinned Liberty’s Zane McCulloch, Webster Groves’ Robbie Mason and Cape Notre Dame’s Owen Dowdy before wrestling Singleton to a decision in the title match.

Evan Shetley ran his record to 26-1, also adding four more wins. He pinned Sikeston’s Mark Fisher, Normandy’s Deimon McKinney and Festus’ Jordan Banks before pulling out a 3-1 decision over McNees.

Brown received a first round bye and pinned Parkway West’s Jaydon Woodall and Union’s Connor Ward to reach the championship. Porter, who is unbeaten, squeaked out the victory in a second overtime.

Blankenship won his first two matches against Cape Notre Dame’s Nathan Karnes and Windsor’s Dominic Pona. He was defeated by Wentzville’s Wyatt Haynes. In the consolation semifinal, he pinned Central’s William Mayberry and took down De Soto’s Kameren Brooks in the third place match.

Dace won by decision in his first two matches against Hancock’s Benjamin Dixon and Central’s Troy Harris. He fell to Windsor’s Seif Elkhashab, but rebounded with a fall over Liberty’s Cole Wolfe. In the third place match, Dace won a 9-5 decision in double overtime against Hillsboro’s Blake Hearst.

Ty Shetley pinned Potosi’s Aidan Boyer and had a 16-2 major decision over De Soto’s Asa Foeller to begin. He lost a 5-0 decision to Hillsboro’s Griffin Ray. Shetley reached the third place match by defeating Parkway North’s Logan Mosier. He fell by a 3-1 decision to North County’s Jordan Borseth.

Eplin had a first round bye and a fall over Webster Groves’ Logan Lawson. He fell to Windsor’s Austin Henry by a 4-3 decision, but pinned Central’s Cody Skaggs. Eplin was defeated by Union’s Ryder Kuenzel in the third place match.

Lewis fell in the opening round to De Soto’s Kenneth Coats, but won his next two matches against Festus’ Davin Umdenstock and Liberty’s Lukas Aubuchon. He was pinned by Coats in the consolation semifinal. In the fifth place match, he had a 10-7 decision over Blayne McDermott of Sikeston.

Hurt lost by major decision to Union’s Gabriel Hoekel, then picked up wins against Webster Groves’ Max Knight and Parkway West’s Owen Beveridge. He was pinned by Seth Winkelmann of Windsor. Hurt ended the day with a fall over Liberty’s Jessie Moore.

Dillon Freeman (106) wrestled twice, falling to Sikeston’s Jacob Leavitt and Union’s Dominick Beine. 

Ransom Dudley (152) had a win against Fort Zumwalt East’s Evan Longer. 

Kyler Martin (220) pinned Hancock’s Milan Pavlovic and Festus’ Elijah Williams.

Sullivan Independent News

Sullivan Independent News
411 Scottsdale
Sullivan, MO 63080

Phone: 573-468-6511
Fax: 573-468-4046