Aug. 1 Deadline For Homeowners, Renters, Businesses To Register For Disaster Assistance

Missouri homeowners, renters and business that sustained property damage or loss caused by the flooding and severe storms between April 28 and May 11 have until Aug. 1 to register and apply for federal disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Eligible homeowners and renters may be able to receive money from FEMA for losses not covered by insurance to help pay for basic home repairs, temporary rental assistance and other needs, like replacing personal property. FEMA Individual Assistance is grant money that does not have to be repaid.

Low-interest disaster loans also are available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

The federal disaster declaration covers the losses suffered in these counties: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, and Texas.

Those counties were declared federal disaster areas.

Flood insurance policyholders in Missouri have been paid more than $38 million so far in claims filed with the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Flood insurance payments began before the federal disaster was declared on June 2.

The flooding damaged more than 1,000 structures in Missouri.

More than $9.6 million has been paid to residents from FEMA, according to the Washington Missourian.

The Missourian reported that Franklin County ranks in the top 10 for amount of recovery money issued to residents with $536,581.

The maximum FEMA payout for an individual is $33,300. Each case is different and payouts are based on damage assessments.

According to the Missourian, 134 claims were filed by residents in eight Franklin County communities and the simple average is just around $4,000 per claim.

Five Sullivan residents have made claims.

There have been 70 claims paid out to Pacific residents, which was the hardest hit by the flooding. FEMA had its temporary headquarters set up there until June 24.

St. Clair has had 25 claims. Villa Ridge and Robertsville combined for 24 claims. Union had seven claims.

One claim each was made in New Haven and Lonedell.

Carter and Newton counties lead the list of Missouri counties receiving FEMA claims. Carter County contains part of the Current River, which crested at a record level. Carter County has just over 6,000 residents, but 240 made FEMA claims and received around $1.5 million.

Newton County, which borders Kansas and Oklahoma, had 351 applicants claim around $1.2 million.

Howell County in southern Missouri tops the list with 419 applicants.

Sullivan Independent News

Sullivan Independent News
411 Scottsdale
Sullivan, MO 63080

Phone: 573-468-6511
Fax: 573-468-4046