Voters To Decide Bond Issue, Seats June 2

The first of two elections this summer will be held Tuesday, June 2, when voters will decide municipal issues throughout Missouri.

The April municipal election was postponed in late March due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Gov. Mike Parson issued an executive order to delay the election until Tuesday.

The only race in the city of Bourbon comes down to Ward 2. Alderwoman Mary Heywood is looking for another term and being challenged by Sonya Sewald.

Mayor Dave Lafferty, Ward 1 Alderman John Nelson and Ward 1 Alderwoman Margie Brine are unchallenged.

Lafferty has been mayor since September following the passing of Danny Skaggs. The term is for two years.

Nelson and Brine stepped in last year to fill the vacancies created by Lafferty and the July resignation of Tom Jordan.

School Board

Four seats were available on the Crawford County R-1 School Board.

Sean Kaysinger, Suzanne Louderman and Stephen Waldron have filed for the three three-year seats and Andrew Graddy has filed for a one-year term. He is being challenged by Paul Sappington.

Louderman and Graddy were appointed in July 2019 after previous members Justin Blanton and Ron Collins resigned.

Blanton is now a mechanic for the school district.

Kaysinger has been on the board since April 2019, winning a one-year seat.

E911 Board

An at-large seat on the Crawford County E911 Board is being contested by Kenny McGraw and Mark Pfieffer.

August Primary

In just two months, voters will head back to the polls to decide the county primary.

Filing ended March 31.

Republican voters will choose their candidate for just three races — assessor, coroner and District 1 commissioner.

Four other county officials will be unchallenged.

Assessor Kellie Vestal is being challenged by Tucker Herrell.

District 1 Commissioner Rob Cummings faces a challenge by former commissioner Richard Martin.

Deputy coroner Darren Dake and Renee Ross are vying for coroner.

Officials who are being unchallenged include District 2 Commissioner Jared Boast, Public Administrator Franky Todd, Sheriff Darin Layman and Surveyor Mark Mueller.

Boast is the only candidate who will be challenged by a Democratic candidate in November as Richard Tarnowski has filed.

Sullivan Independent News

Sullivan Independent News
411 Scottsdale
Sullivan, MO 63080

Phone: 573-468-6511
Fax: 573-468-4046