Candidates Begin Filing For County Offices

Candidates began filing for Crawford County seats Feb. 27 and there are races shaping up for several seats in the Aug. 7 primary.

Three Republicans have filed for the presiding commissioner and prosecuting attorney seats.

Incumbent Leo Sanders filed for a third term and he will be challenged by former District 1 Commissioner Richard Martin and Dianne Ijames.

Martin opted not to run for his commissioner seat in 2012, instead deciding to challenge Randy Martin for Crawford County Sheriff.

For prosecuting attorney, Kent Howald’s seat is being challenged by attorneys David Smith, Susan Bell and Brant Shockley. Smith currently works in the prosecutor’s office.

Bell is a Steelville-based attorney who ran unsuccessfully against Scott Bernstein for associate judge in 2014.

Shockley ran for Phelps County Prosector in 2014 where he was defeated by Brendon Fox.

There are two Republican candidates who have filed for treasurer and associate judge.

Karen Sikes, an employee at the Crawford County Health Department, has filed. Angela Brown also has filed for the seat currently held by Catie Ringeisen. Ringeisen will not seek reelection after holding the seat since 2013.

For associate judge, Democrat Bernstein has not filed for a fourth term. Republicans Kristopher Crews and Patrick Horsefield have filed for the primary. Crews is an attorney in Steelville. Horsefield is a partner at Steelman, Gaunt & Horsefield, based in Rolla.

As of Friday, other incumbents were unchallenged.

Crawford County Clerk John Martin, Circuit Court Clerk Karen Harlan, Recorder of Deeds Kim Cook and Collector Pat Schwent did not have opponents. Schwent will resign her seat effective Thursday due to an ethics violation.

Sullivan Independent News

Sullivan Independent News
411 Scottsdale
Sullivan, MO 63080

Phone: 573-468-6511
Fax: 573-468-4046