County Officials Sworn in Thursday

Crawford County officials were sworn in Thursday morning at the courthouse, the beginning of new four-year terms.

District 1 Commissioner Rob Cummings, District 2 Commissioner Jared Boast, Coroner Darren Dake, Public Administrator Franky Todd, Surveyor Mark Mueller and Sheriff Darin Layman all were sworn in by clerk John Martin.

Assessor Kellie Vestal will be sworn in next year as her position 

Before the swear-in, Martin honored Paul Hutson for 28 years of service as coroner.

Hutson took office in January 1993.

He was the longest-tenured county official.

That title now belongs to Mueller.

Todd is next in line after winning his fifth term in November. Todd was unopposed in both August and November.

Cummings and Boast begin their second terms .

Both officials were elected in 2016. 

Cummings was challenged by former District 1 Commissioner Richard Martin in the August primary, but he won handily.

Boast was unchallenged in the primary, but defeated Richard Tarnowski in November, the only county race on the ballot.

Dake, who has served as deputy coroner, defeated Renee Ross in the August primary.

Unopposed again in 2020, Layman will begin his second term as sheriff.

Vestal defeated Tucker Herrell in the August primary. 

Sullivan Independent News

Sullivan Independent News
411 Scottsdale
Sullivan, MO 63080

Phone: 573-468-6511
Fax: 573-468-4046