Bourbon City Council Finally At Full Quorum

The Bourbon City Council is at a full quorum for the first time since July.

Margie Brine was appointed to fill the seat of Mayor Dave Lafferty, who assumed the role following the death of Danny Skaggs on September 12. She was sworn in before the council met on October 15.

There will be two Ward 1 seats to be contested in the April 2020 election.

Following the resignation of Thomas Jordan at the end of July, John Nelson was appointed to fill out the remainder of his term.

Nelson’s seat will be a two-year term and Brine’s seat a one-year term when filings begin in December.

Lafferty’s mayoral seat also will be a two-year term.

In Ward 2, Mary Heywood’s seat is up for reelection. Heywood is currently the mayor pro tem. 

Ward 2 Alderman Carl Hammack’s seat expires in April 2021.

Sullivan Independent News

Sullivan Independent News
411 Scottsdale
Sullivan, MO 63080

Phone: 573-468-6511
Fax: 573-468-4046